When I was a rebellious teenager, holy to me, meant cutting holes into my
clothing to defy the institution of being proper. As I have matured and
grown, my understanding, needless to say has changed rather drastically. Over the last 10 years I have become more involved in my Jewish heritage and have spent time asking questions and investigating our very long history.

The concept of a holy person, a tzaddik, always seemed to me some far away individual with whom I somehow always struggled to identify. I grew up in a secular world, where a person’s value is determined by the service they offer to the world, and how much society is willing to pay for that service. So, this idea of each individual having intrinsic value as a human being, bound by a holy mission to serve God and fulfill a granted potential seemed rather foreign.

Especially, the service part. Being a proud and well defined rebel, the last
thing I wanted was to serve. Until, with shocked resignation, I understood,
that I was indeed serving---serving my own desires for whatever I wanted,
that is…

This past Shabbat I heard a woman speak. She is a holy woman. I was so moved by her words, her challenges, and her strength that it inspired me to
improve my own level of service and to strive to live a more holy life.

The Jews were singled out to be an “am kadosh - a holy nation.”

I’d like to explore what that means.

The dictionary definitions are:

dedicated to religious use; belonging to or coming from God; consecrated;

sacred

spiritually perfect or pure; untainted by evil or sin; sinless; saintly

regarded with or deserving deep respect, awe, reverence, or adoration

The holy woman I mentioned is Rivka Namir, a mother of 12 and pregnant with her 10th at the time she was expelled from her home in Gush Katif. She
described her family’s complete belief that somehow against all rationale,
they would not be removed from their home. After surviving the fall of 6000
missiles, and truly living a miraculous existence, I could understand their
faith. My heart broke when I heard how her husband greeted the soldiers in his military uniform and handed his medal of honor to the commander of the
same army who was now evicting him.

The Israeli government had sent in their army, the IDF (the *Israeli Defence
Force*), whose stated mission is the protection of Israel's citizens. On
that day, its goal changed radically.  It was now forcibly removing its most nationalistic and loyal compatriots from land historically belonging to the Jewish people.  The Namir family, along with hundreds of other Jews who had settled Gush Katif and built it up to a near paradise, were now being forced to leave.

Rivka explained to us that nothing can happen in this world without Hashem willing it from above. She said she could ask lama - why, but instead she learnt to ask leh mah - for what can I learn from this? Losing her home and all of her possessions, having her children completely uprooted, and losing faith in the government that had promised to protect her…what did she have left? She shared that it took her over a year before she was able to honestly give thanks to the Creator. She poignantly described how, once the expulsion occurred, she had to make peace with the fact that this was the Will of God and to somehow find the good in it.

She says she knows now what the destruction of the Holy Temple must have *felt* like. Not just intellectually, but in her heart. Her prayers and desire for the Messiach are more genuine now. Her kids joking around that they no longer have to do their homework as they no longer have a home, shows the uncanny ability of this family to decide to be, exactly as the dictionary definition describes:

dedicated to religious use; belonging to or coming from God

The practice they took upon themselves to write down, each day, 10 things for which to praise God, encouraged each family member to be grateful for everything in their lives, even in the most trying of circumstances. She spoke with peace and calm and joy about her dedication to serve God in this world and accept His Will.

200 families from Gush Katif have now settled (still in caravans) on the
yeshuv of Yad Binyamin. Their presence there has affected the entire
community. They inspire all who come into contact with them, by their
hope, joy in service and love of the Almighty.

What could possibly be more holy?
Jason Farber
12/17/2009 08:30:02 pm

You know I only started reading your blog today and let me say your insights and passion for yiddishkeit flows off the pages and into one's soul. truly inspiring.

Hope you and your hubby are well Baruch Hashem) and enjoying your time learning in Israel. I finish my community service for psychology in April 2011 and then Iam going to learn in a yeshiva for 5 years in Israel.
Maybe we will meet up along the way.
Never stop writing or teaching you have a talent!

much joy
Jason.

Reply
Heidi Zerlin
12/23/2009 04:58:04 pm

Michal,

You never cease to amaze me. I have to be honest with you...before you wrote this story about what holy means and how you have so perfectly given the most amazing example of a real life holy family/individual like Rivka Namir and her family to describe the meaning of holy entirely I had an idea that related to Rivka and her family as well. Here goes:

For years and years I have had this secret dream that no one really knows about and that one day B'H" I will be able to activate it into reality. I have had a dream to one day use allot of money of my own and other's money to rebuild another "Gush Ka Tif" if you will but in the Negev instead of on any boarders or green lines or any territory that might be G-d forbid taken back by our amazing "Israeli" government that has "Israel's best interest in mind." My opinion is that money is their number one priority and the people and the land are just secondary to that. Wonder if you agree with me on that???

Israel needs sooo much help in so many ways.. money is always one way but much more than that is a true tachlis for why do we as Jews have the state of Israel and how can we protect it, it's citizens and any Jew that wants to one day live there in the future??? If we don't protect ourselves and have an us, a we an echad approach to Israel and being Jewish...where will we be in 10 years??? Where there even be an Israel if we are divided within this tiny country? How can the Israeli government do such a thing as they did with Gush Katif I will never ever ever understand...

Back to my dream:::One day I'd love to organize a huge fund to buy a large piece of land in the Negev and call it Ha Bayit Neeman B' Yisroel. I want to fly out skilled construction workers and try to hire as many Jewish Americans, Israelis, Russians, anyone who is Jewish and can work construction on the project...I want to myself be involved in the physical building of the village as well.


My goal would be to create an infrastructure so that all Jews who lost their homes through terrorism or through being kicked out of them would have the opportunity to live in a free home that was built just for them only on the merit that because they were kicked out of their homes and now a home was already built for them and now they can hopefully live peacefully and happily in a brand new community that they can call their own and never get kicked out of. I'd also love to fly out inner city American high school kids from broken homes, who are on the streets, who are drug addicts or ex-convicts and have them volunteer for free for at least a month in the Israeli army fighting or knowing what its like to be a real soldier...than they would be taught on the job by skilled craftsman how to build houses.

This would be like some sort of community service outreach program internship for low-income high schools kids of America. I think it would be a great idea. It would be like killing two birds with one stone...they are unproductive kids who have allot of energy that can be used for good, they can use that energy and see what "real" danger and fighting is in the army and than apply their artistic/engineering, scientific/math talents to building homes, gardens, schools, play grounds and so on and so forth. I would love it if this community in the Negev could have a very reliable water source, the irrigation has to be perfect, plus I would love to build not only markets, shuls, homes, playgrounds, parks and recreational centers...I also want to build in a way for this community to survive financially.

For example some kibbutzes have plastic factories or furniture factories where the kibbutz's sell their marketable goods and are able to sustain their living...in the same light I would love to do that for this community in the Negev, so that the families living there will be able to buy groceries there, send their kids to school there plus work there as well. It can be like a sustainable living in one community where there would be no need to travel outside the community unless to see friends from another town. In other words it should be self supporting. Of course this is but a dream that I have and I hope and pray that one day I will be able to put this into to actual practice B'H'
I had the pleasure and privilege of spending the last Purim of Gush Katif ever at a place called Morag..it was one of the neighboring villages within the Gush Katif mecca. It tore my heart out what happened, Jewish Israeli soldiers forcing Jewish citizen's out of land that was rightfully theirs for what??? Because there were too many Arabs living in such close quarters and it was getting dangerous to protect all of the couple thousand Jewish families living there??? I still can't really get it, but then again, I am not in the army and I am not protecting such a venture so maybe I can't comprehend the ins and outs totally of the situa

Reply



Leave a Reply.